Skip to content
Free shipping with a min. spend of $50 and above (Singapore only)
Free shipping with a min. spend of $50 and above (Singapore only)

Moonrise, Sunset


S$21.50

Notify me when back in stock

  • Description
  • About the Author
  • Hours after agreeing to marry How Kum Menon, Vanita Sundram is murdered, stabbed while asleep in her fiance's arms. More killings follow, and the reluctant and grieving How Kum is swept up in the police investigation. As time passes and the murders remain unsolved, several self-proclaimed 'experts' muscle in: How Kum's drunken 'Uncle' Oscar with his underworld links: the unlikely double-act of an American psycho-sexual healer and his matronly psychic sidekick: and a Hindu holy-man - A political thriller in the tradition of Graham Greene and Eric Ambler, Moonrise, Sunset enhances Gopal Baratham's reputation as Singapore's most brilliant and controversial writer.

  • Gopal Baratham was a neurosurgeon and author. He won the Southeast Asian Write Award in 1991, and his political thriller, A Candle or the Sun, was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 1992. One of the first local writers whose works have been published by British publishers, Baratham received international praise for his fiction works, which are based on Singapore society.

ISBN: 9789814351362
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 345
Year Published: 2014