Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

Fright 1: Winners of the 2022 Storytel Epigram Horror Prize

Publisher: Epigram Books
  • Description
  • About the Prize
  • Look inside the book   |   Listen to the audiobook   |   Get the E-book

    The first volume of a brand new horror anthology series.

    Ghost stories and tales of fright have a long verbal and written tradition in Singapore, and so Epigram Books is proud to present a new annual anthology series of terrifying local fiction. Featuring all the winners of the 2022 Storytel Epigram Horror Prize, Fright 1 celebrates all subsets of the horror genre, told with a Singaporean twist.

    The contributors include Meihan Boey, Dew M. Chaiyanara, Dave Chua, Jane Huang, Wen-yi Lee, Kelly Leow, Kimberly Lium, O Thiam Chin, Quek Shin Yi, Tan Lixin and Teo Kai Xiang.

  • Established in 2022, the Storytel Epigram Horror Prize was initiated to reward Singapore writing and put the spotlight on horror fiction in Singapore literature. The judging panel for the 2022 Storytel Epigram Horror Prize consists of Gwee Li Sui, Annaliza Bakri and Jason Erik Lundberg.

    Dr Gwee Li Sui
    is a poet, graphic artist and literary critic, and has written and lectured on a range of subjects. He’s published seven volumes of verse to date, most recently This Floating World. He wrote Singapore’s first English-language graphic novel Myth of the Stone in 1993, re-released in 2013.

    Annaliza Bakri is a writer, translator and researcher. Her work has been published at Prairie Schooner, Brooklyn Rail, Transnational Literature, s/pores, Budi Kritik, Asymptote and Centre for Stories. In 2017, she edited and translated the poetry anthology Sikit-Sikit Lama-lama Jadi Bukit, featuring places in Singapore and surrounding islands.

    Jason Erik Lundberg is Epigram Books’s fiction editor, and the author and anthologist of over twenty-five books, including A Fickle and Restless Weapon, Most Excellent and Lamentable, Diary of One Who Disappeared, the Bo Bo and Cha Cha picture book series, and the biennial Best New Singaporean Short Stories anthology series.

ISBN: 9789814984775
Page Count: 272
Year Published: 2022
Size: 198mm x 129mm