Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

Reading the Room: A Playwright’s Devising Journey

Publisher: The Necessary Stage
Sold out
  • Description
  • About the Playwright
  • Over the past three decades, award-winning playwright Haresh Sharma has written more than 120 plays, many of them created with the The Necessary Stage’s unique devising methodology.⁣⁣⁣
    𝘙𝘦𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘙𝘰𝘰𝘮: 𝘈 𝘗𝘭𝘢𝘺𝘸𝘳𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵’𝘴 𝘋𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘑𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 offers unprecedented access into the devising process, with keen insights and intimate reflections gleaned from Haresh’s artistic journey.⁣ ⁣This book describes Haresh’s devising process in meticulous detail, illustrated by production case studies and incorporating numerous archival artefacts, including photographs, early drafts of scripts and personal correspondences. It also features in-depth interviews with some of TNS’ most notable artist-collaborators.⁣⁣ ⁣

    The chapters highlight different aspects of devising such as:⁣⁣ ⁣
    Devising with Communities⁣⁣⁣
    Devising and Verbatim Theatre⁣⁣⁣
    Devising and International Collaboration⁣⁣⁣
    Devising and Interdisciplinary Theatre⁣⁣.⁣
    Written as an accessible how-to guide, 𝘙𝘦𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘙𝘰𝘰𝘮: 𝘈 𝘗𝘭𝘢𝘺𝘸𝘳𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵’𝘴 𝘋𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘑𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 promises to be an invaluable resource for playwrights, directors, students, teachers and collaborative artists, as well as anyone curious about Singapore theatre history.

  • Haresh Sharma is Resident Playwright of The Necessary Stage and co-Artistic Director of the annual M1 Singapore Fringe Festival. To date, he has written about 100 plays. One of these, Off Centre, was selected by the Ministry of Education as a Literature text for ‘N’ and ‘O’ Levels, and republished by The Necessary Stage in 2006. In 2008, Interlogue: Studies in Singapore Literature, Vol. 6, was published by Ethos Books. Written by Prof David Birch and edited by A/P Kirpal Singh, it presents an extensive investigation of Haresh’s work over the past 20 years. A collection of Haresh’s plays was also translated into Mandarin and published as <<哈里斯·沙玛剧作选>> by Global Publishing. In 2010, Epigram Books published Those Who Can’t, Teach

    Haresh was awarded Best Original Script for Fundamentally Happy, Good People and Gemuk Girls during the 2007, 2008 and 2009 Life! Theatre Awards respectively. In 2010, the abovementioned plays were published by The Necessary Stage in the Trilogy collection. Most recently, two collections of short plays by Haresh, Shorts 1 and Shorts 2, were published as well. In 2011, Haresh became the first non-American to be awarded the prestigious Goldberg Master Playwright by New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. In 2014, Haresh was awarded the prestigious S.E.A. Write Award.

ISBN: 9789811802775
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 480