Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

Ovidia Yu: Eight Plays

By: Ovidia Yu
Publisher: Epigram Books
  • Description
  • Praise
  • About the Playwright
  • Look inside the book   |   Get the E-book 

    Fall in love with Singapore’s most prominent feminist playwright. Ovidia Yu dissects all things female—from breasts to virginity, motherhood to lesbian love—and lays them bare in this omnibus collection of her finest works.
    It contains award-winning works such as The Woman in a Tree on the Hill, the only Singapore play to win the Edinburgh Fringe First awardHitting (On Women), as well as the comedy Three Fat Virgins and sociopolitical drama Silence of the Kittens. This book is the third in our playwright omnibus series.

  • On The Woman in a Tree on the Hill
    “This production’s strength is…in the details. Touching and very brilliant.”
    —Jeremy Samuel, The Flying Inkpot

    On Three Fat Virgins
    “Ovidia Yu’s light and witty comedy is (juxtaposed with) dark undercurrents of frustration, claustrophobia and hopelessness…”
    —Kenneth Kwok, The Flying Inkpot

    On Hitting (On) Women
    “…a well-crafted play that gives an intimate examination of the knotted, entangled lives of two women.”
    The Business Times

  • Ovidia Yu has written over thirty plays including The Woman in a Tree on the Hill, the only Singapore play to win an Edinburgh Fringe First. In her writing, she uses humour and storytelling to address the changing roles and identities of Singaporeans, on the principle that without entertainment there can be no engagement. Ovidia Yu received the National Arts Council Young Artist Award (Drama and Fiction), the Singapore Youth Award (Arts and Culture), and the Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry Singapore Foundation Award for outstanding contribution to the development of arts.

ISBN: 9789810884680
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 416
Year Published: 2011
Size: 145mm x 210mm