Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

The Last Fools: The Eight Immortals of Lee Kuan Yew

Publisher: The Nutgraf Books
  • Description
  • About the Editor
  • As Lee Kuan Yew and his Old Guard founding leaders attempted to shape an improbable nation from a tropical island with no hinterland, they depended on this elite collection of bureaucrats to turn their ideas into icons. The chosen octet not only built the world’s best airport, the best seaport, and the best airline, but also designed a housing, healthcare, infrastructure, security, leadership, and financial system that rivalled the best in the world.

    Yet as Third World transformed into the First through the sheer creativity and grit of these men, the Eight Immortals faded from public memory, slowly forgotten by a young nation racing into the future. Some of their names adorn libraries, institutions, and scholarships, but few in Singapore would be able to recall the achievements of George Bogaars, Andrew Chew, Hon Sui Sen, Howe Yoon Chong, Lee Ek Tieng, Ngiam Tong Dow, J. Y. Pillay, and Sim Kee Boon.

    For the first time, The Last Fools tells the extraordinary and inspiring stories of these eight civil servants. Through the eyes of eight experienced journalists and authors, this independent book reveals the trade-offs, sacrifices, and secrets behind the breath-taking rise of the tiny nation. Award-winning editor Peh Shing Huei delivers a provocative read that provides insights into how Singapore has become one of the world’s most developed economies and peaceful countries.

  • Peh Shing Huei is a Singapore Literature Prize-winning author of several No. 1 bestsellers including Tall Order: The Goh Chok Tong Story Volume 1 and Neither Civil Nor Servant: The Philip Yeo Story. He is a founding partner of content consultancy The Nutgraf, and former news editor and China bureau chief at The Straits Times.
ISBN: 9789811843631
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 222
Year Published: 2022
Size: 130mm x 227mm