Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

Epigram Books Fiction Prize 2015 – We Have a Winner!

We are pleased to announce that the winner of this year's Epigram Books Fiction Prize is O Thiam Chin, with his manuscript “The Infinite Sea”. He was up against fellow competitors Balli Kaur Jaswal (“Sugarbread”), Sebastian Sim (“Let’s Give It Up For Gimme Lao!”) and Wong Souk Yee (“Expelled”).

This decision was made by a judging panel that consisted of NUS professor Philip Holden, bestselling author Adrian Tan, leading actress Janice Koh and Epigram Books’ CEO Edmund Wee. Described as giving insight into “how little we know the people whom we are in relationships with”, The Infinite Sea drew praise for its compelling plot, the quality of its writing and the strength of its character development.

Thiam Chin beat out a total of 68 other manuscripts submitted over a period of six months. “The Infinite Sea” will be published by Epigram Books and is set to be published early next year.

About the Prize

Making headlines upon its announcement, the inaugural Epigram Books Fiction Prize is the richest literary award in Singapore. With a prize of $20,000 and a publishing contract with Epigram Books, this award is to be given to a Singaporean, Singaporean permanent resident or Singapore-born author for the best manuscript of a full-length, original and unpublished novel written in the English language.

For more information about the the Epigram Books Fiction Prize, or for any queries, please visit or contact Clara How at

Previous article Doing the Write Thing: Tita Larasati