Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

The Philip Jeyaretnam Collection

  • Description
  • About the Author
  • This collection gathers three of Philip Jeyaretnam’s best-known works in a single volume. Together, they showcase his mastery of the written word across a range of forms, subject matter and emotional landscapes. The short stories and novels set in Singapore explore themes of identity, materialism, interracial relationships, power and betrayal while exposing the nation’s frailties, cracks and contradictions. Jeyaretnam’s characters – the thinkers, dreamers and doers – make their own way, searching for meaning in the gaps between achievement, aspiration and regret.

    First Loves displays Jeyaretnam’s intimate understanding of young love and loss, while Raffles Place Ragtime examines the place of love in relation to ambition, deception and material aspiration. In Abraham’s Promise, an old man comes to an understanding and reconciliation of his life and times hard-won in maturity.

    Charged with emotional power and clarity, Jeyaretnam’s spare, thoughtful prose shows off his gift for characterisation and confirms him as an elegant, eloquent stylist.

  • Philip Antony Jeyaretnam SC is the Singapore chief executive officer and global vice-chair at Dentons. He is a Senior Counsel and a former President of the Law Society of Singapore. He is also a Singaporean lawyer and novelist.

ISBN: 9789814779081
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 524
Year Published: 2017