Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

60 Years of Yang-Mills Gauge Field Theories

  • Description
  • About the Editors
  • During the last six decades, Yang–Mills theory has increasingly become the cornerstone of theoretical physics. It is seemingly the only fully consistent relativistic quantum many-body theory in four space-time dimensions. As such it is the underlying theoretical framework for the Standard Model of Particle Physics, which has been shown to be the correct theory at the energies we now can measure. It has been investigated also from many other perspectives, and many new and unexpected features have been uncovered from this theory.

    In recent decades, apart from high energy physics, the theory has been actively applied in other branches of physics, such as statistical physics, condensed matter physics, nonlinear systems, etc. This makes the theory an indispensable topic for all who are involved in physics. The conference celebrated the exceptional achievements using Yang–Mills theory over the years but also many other truly remarkable contributions to different branches of physics from Prof C N Yang.

    This volume collects the invaluable talks by Prof C N Yang and the invited speakers reviewing these remarkable contributions and their importance for the future of physics.

  • Lars Elof Gustaf Brink is a Swedish theoretical physicist. During 1971–1973 was member of the theory group at CERN. Since 1986 he is professor of theoretical physics at Chalmers Institute of Technology in Gothenburg. Brink is one of the pioneers of superstring theory, since the 1970s.

    Phua Kok Khoo is a Singaporean publisher, academic, and philanthropist. 

ISBN: 9789814725545 (Hardcover), 9789814725552 (Softcover)
Cover Type: Hardcover, Paperback
Page Count: 540
Year Published: 2016