Skip to content
Local delivery is now $4, up to 5kg, FREE if the order exceeds $50!
Local delivery: $4, up to 5kg, FREE for orders >$50!

The Straits Quartet Box Set

Publisher: Monsoon Books
Sold out
  • Description
  • About the Author
  • Drawing on real-life historical personalities and actual places from 19th-century Singapore, author Dawn Farnham brings to life the heady atmosphere of Old Singapore where piracy, crime, triads and tigers are commonplace. This intense and passionate 4-volume romance follows the struggle of two lovers: Charlotte Macleod, sister of Singapore’s Head of Police, and Zhen, triad member and once the lowliest of coolies, who beats the odds to become a wealthy Chinese merchant. Opium, murder, incest, suicide, passion and love … a heady combination in the sin city of the south seas.

    This box set contains all 4 volumes of the quartet.

  • Dawn Farnham is the author of The Red ThreadThe Shallow SeasThe Hills of Singapore and The English Concubine (which comprise The Straits Quartet, a bestselling series of historical romance set in 19th-century Singapore), A Crowd of Twisted Things, a novel set in 1950 Singapore, as well as numerous short stories, plays and children’s books. A former longterm resident of Singapore, Dawn now calls Perth, Australia, home. Learn more about Dawn at

ISBN: 9789814423632
Cover Type: Paperback
Page Count: 1312
Year Published: 2014